Fun with Shuffle (with prizes…kind of)

Okay, so with A prize.  This is another one of those ‘put your iPod on Shuffle’ posts, but with a twist!  Five songs are from my iPod, five songs are from Meg’s…and five songs we wouldn’t let near either with a ten foot mixing board.  Your job will be to figure out which songs belong to each of us, and which songs neither of us would claim.  As a prize, the first person to guess correctly will be the first ever recipient of the Snobbery’s new Seal of Approval commenting award!  Ready?

1.  2NE1 - Lonely

~*~

2.  Neil Diamond - Coming to America

~*~

3.  Damien Rice - The Blower’s Daughter

~*~

4.  Camera Obscura - Dory Previn

~*~

5.  Me First and the Gimme Gimmes - Stand by Your Man

~*~

6.  Nickelback - How You Remind Me

~*~

7.  Heidi Mollenhauer - God Help the Outcasts

~*~

8.  Mieczyslaw Horszowski – Mozart’s Fantasia in D Minor

~*~

9.  George Strait – Ocean Front Property

~*~

10.  Monkees – Randy Scouse Git

~*~

11.  INXS – Mystify

~*~

12.  Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers – Into the Great Wide Open

~*~

13.  Cacophony – Speed Metal Symphony

~*~

14.  Lady Gaga – Poker Face

~*~

15.  Righteous Brothers – Unchained Melody

~*~

If no one can guess them all correctly, the person who comes closest will still get the commenting award.  Get to listening!

39 thoughts on “Fun with Shuffle (with prizes…kind of)

  1. I see nothing but a load of “This website has been blocked as it is in the category Open/MixedContent.”

    Bloody corporate fascists blocking fun stuff.

    Will have a butchers when I get in from work.

  2. My guesses:
    Songs not on either ipod: #s 1,6,7,9 & 14
    Songs on your ipod: #s 4,5,8,12,13 (just guessing, don’t be offended if I screwed it up)
    Meg’s ipod: #s 2,3,10,11,15

  3. I’ll have to try this again later. My computer has decided it doesn’t want to load WP this morning.

    Yours 1, 4, 5, 13, 11
    Megs 3, 7, 8, 9, 12
    Neither 2, 6, 10, 15, 14

  4. Yours – 4 5 7 8 13
    Meg – 2 6 11 12 15

    I can’t listen to the songs :( going from memory. And it throws me off cause meg seems like a monkees kind of girl. If I had to remove one for it I would remove either nickelback or possibly inxs. :/

  5. I don’t think you should have given out scores ahead of time. There are only 756,756 possible ways to arrange 15 songs among three iPods where each iPod gets 5 songs. Each score you gave a new criteria for selecting arrangements: they had to match 8 of atoasttodragons’ guesses, 2 of Howlin’ Mad Heather’s, and so on. Being to tired to figure out how to step sequentially through all possible arrangements, I just tested 10 million random arrangements against those criteria. That gave me a list of seven legal arrangements. I had them vote on an ideal arrangement, and matched that arrangement back against the seven, narrowing the list to two. I then flipped a coin. So my guess is:

    Neither: 2, 4, 6, 11, 14
    Meg: 3, 5, 7, 9, 15
    SJ: 1, 8, 10, 12, 13

    Now watch there be a bug in my program and I only got three right.

    • Heh. 8. Also, Meg informed me that based on one of his guesses, atoasttodragons is now -15 for even suggesting she’d listen to that song…so he’s actually -7.

  6. Pingback: And the Winner Is… | snobbery

  7. Pingback: Spin Me Round, Baby! « Prawn And Quartered

Comments are closed.