Embarrassing Sunday Photos

Well, photo singular.

I was clearing out a drawer and found an old wallet photo sleeve of my dad’s.  Mostly full of pictures of my brothers when they were tiny, but there was also this:

So, it’s all scratched up and there are ink spots on faces, but this is me and the two girls I spent a huge amount of time with when I was 18.  “HEY LET’S GO GET OUR PICTURE TAKEN AT THE MALL!”  No, seriously, I’m pretty sure those were the exact words uttered.

Anyway.  You guys have embarrassing photos from eons ago, too – right?  Right?  Don’t let me be alone just because Em forced me to post this.

Also, this was one of my favourite songs around the time this picture was taken.  Totally appropriate.

35 thoughts on “Embarrassing Sunday Photos

  1. Awwww, the three of you look adorable. Do you still keep in contact with the other two? A couple of times, I came close to trying to wipe away those spots on the photo.

    That song is certainly full of energy.

    • No, I haven’t seen either of them since I was 19. I do wonder how they are, but honestly, I can’t even remember how to spell their last names now.

  2. This. Is. Awesome. Thanks for sharing!

    I should share a photo from the time my best friend and I thought it would be genius to go grocery shopping in our prom dresses (18). Or one of my many Bosstones/Squirrel Nut/ska/swing outfits (also 18). Or one of the many times we dressed up like the Spice Girls before going out (one of us wore a long clingy black skirt for a dress. Can’t remember who. Another 18 moment.).

    We should embrace these old pictures! We were doin’ it! Any way we could!

  3. Pingback: Embarassing Sunday Photos « Adventures in Borkdom

    • I was very much into doing my own thing. My senior year was spent barefoot at school (I kept my shoes in my backpack and just slipped them on when I got to class) and I owned a lot of polyester shirts and corduroy pants.

      I have a photo of me in that stuff that I’ll post one Sunday. My glasses were HUGE.

    • This place was waaaaaaaaaay cheaper than glamour shots. This was a tiny hole in the wall near the least used entrance of the Riverside Galleria that gave you something like 10 photos for $5.

  4. This is awesome. I mean it. I don’t have any pictures handy from when I was 18, but I was very into wearing boys clothes back then–boy’s Levis, sweatshirts, button-up shirts (not dress shirts, but more like chamois and flannel) that were waaaay too big for me, etc. I had a lot of male friends, and I actually borrowed their shirts once in a while. Haha!

    • I mostly wore men’s jeans because it was hard to find them in the ladies section that were long enough for me…and I had SO MANY button up shirts. I actually loved the shirts with the snaps. I had a few that I got at a thrift store that were my favourite.

      • YES, YES, YES to finding jeans that were long enough! I’m only 5’3″, but I’m mostly leg. So…if jeans fit my waist, they were too short…if they fit my legs, they were too big around the waist. This is still the bane of my existence. Le sigh. I hate shopping for pants. HATE IT.

        • Hee! I mostly wear dresses and skirts now because I can’t find pants that fit me right. I have the same problem buying clothes for my kids because it’s exactly like what you described. At least kids have overalls.

  5. I love this. I have got to get around to scanning the high school photos of myself I found when I went home last time. There’s one…um. I look kind of deranged. It makes me laugh. And also kind of sad. I’ve been planning a walk down memory lane photo post for a while…it’s just that the scanner is hooked up to the shitty computer that takes years to do anything, and I don’t know how to hook it up to the laptop. Someday. Soon. Promise. I have some total winners.

  6. Aww, I remember when Going To The Mall was the coolest thing ever. When Claire’s (and all its other incarnations) opened up, and one of my friends subscribed to American Eagle catalogs or something like that, just because it was cool. And I had a smiley-face t-shirt that said “Love Me,” and my mom pretty much never let me wear it outside the house. Aww, Mom!

  7. Bwahaha this is awesome! I have some old photos of me bopping around but usually just put them on Facebook so my friends can all cry themselves laughing. I will just say this: So many people asked whether I used hairspray to achieve such volume, but the answer was no. I was no poseur, and had way too much 1980s street cred for that.

Comments make us happy. Leave lots of comments.

