This Space Intentionally Left BLANK

Guess what?  Meg and I BOTH read the same book!  I know, I know.  Look, we’re going to try to keep this super non-spoilery cos we both loved it.  Loved.  It.  And we think you should go pre-order yourselves a copy, like, immediately.  More information on how you can do that at the end.

sj says:  I’m not normally a fan of crime fiction.  At all.  I was really into murder mysteries in junior high, and I think having devoured umpteen back issues of Ellery Queen left me feeling like I was always smarter than the so-called detectives I was reading about.  “OF COURSE IT WAS SO AND SO, YOU FOOL!”  Anyway, I received a review copy of Justin Robinson’s Mr. Blank from Candlemark and Gleam and wasn’t sure going in how much I’d like it.

It took less than two pages for me to decide that I loved it.  No, seriously.  I was already wanting to quote it immediately.  Does a book make you want to share a different line from every page?  If so, it’s a keeper.  Mr. Blank is a keeper.

The main character is shallowly embroiled in each major group  that’s been whispered about for as long as conspiracies have been going around.  Little Green Men?  He knows ‘em.  Chupacabra?  He’s seen ‘em.  Oh, and the minor groups too.  Like the Anorectic Praxis, a group constantly at odds with the members of V.E.N.U.S. over the proper shape the womanly form should take.

Due to his many, MANY affiliations, our “hero” finds himself in ridiculous situation after ridiculous situation.  HOW WILL HE GET HIMSELF OUT OF THIS MESS?  Well, you’ll have to read it to find out, won’t you?

Meg says:  I found the protagonist highly entertaining, particularly when he was bandied about by various females (woman-handled?). It seems like most male protagonists are either great hulking brutes and/or magically have some ninja assassin skills a la Jason Bourne – this character had neither. He didn’t even like weapons. He was kind of a pansy honestly, but he was a smart pansy, and that was his saving grace – except when it got him into trouble. He was always sassy in the face of adversity, though, which is something I respect, and mostly why I liked him so much.

I was disappointed that the author didn’t expand more on the magical aspects of the novel, which were sort of casually speckled throughout the book, though that’s probably my inner ~fantasy nerd~ showing. You can’t just dangle chupacabras in front of me and expect me not to, well, bite.

Honestly, my main complaint about the book was that the author didn’t leave himself any room for a sequel. I liked the protagonist. I liked the deuteragonist. I liked them so much I wanted more bad things to happen to them so I could see them finagle themselves out of more perilous situations, because I’m mean like that (you guys should see my Sim families, I’m horrible).

We say:  Read it.  It’s fun, and takes you on an awesome ride you didn’t even know you wanted to go on.  Seriously.  Mr Blank will be out October 23, but there’s currently a pre-order kickstarter going on – which we highly encourage you all to get in on.  You can find all of that by clicking here.  Mr Blank also has its own mini-site, which you can find here.  Oh, and you can enter a giveaway on goodreads to win a copy here.  Really, we promise we wouldn’t steer you wrong.  We think you’ll all love this one as much as we did.  What are you waiting for?  GO!  CLICK!

9 thoughts on “This Space Intentionally Left BLANK

  1. Pingback: Mr Blank Blog Tour – Interview with a Conspirator | snobbery

  2. Pingback: Like good scotch with a gasoline chaser. | snobbery

Comments make us happy. Leave lots of comments.

