30 Day Book Challenge: Day 4

Much like yesterday, today’s topic is open to interpretation.  It’s asking for a book that reminds me of home.  I’ve talked about this before other places, but I don’t know that I ever have here on the blog.  I think maybe I talked about it over at Amy‘s one time?

Home.  That’s kind of a loaded word, isn’t it?  What is home for someone who’s moved around a lot?  What is home for someone who’s never really felt like they’ve belonged anywhere?

A Book That Reminds Me of Home

Emma Bull’s War for the Oaks.  I talked a little bit about my relationship with the works of Emma Bull in a post that not many people read (here), and I know I mentioned previously that this is one of my All Time Favourites.

So, why does a book about a battle between the Seelie and Unseelie Courts in modern-day (well, in the 80s) Minneapolis remind me of home?

That’s really hard to say.  I read this book for the first time at a really rough time in my life.  I touched on it in that other post linked up there, but from ages 8 to about 15 were really really difficult for young sj.  Home to me at that point in time was almost a bad word.

Home was a place I didn’t want to be.  Home was a place that was full of fear for maybe doing or saying the wrong thing, or even just breathing wrong or making an inappropriate (and sometimes involuntary) facial expression.

I carried this book with me everywhere for several years.  It had its own pocket in my backpack.  I was living in a really rural town in NW Montana at the time – school was over 20 miles away – but because of the circuitous backroads routes needed to pick everyone up (and I was the first and last stop!), I’d have to be on the bus at around 6 each morning, and not get home until around 4 each afternoon.

That was a lot of time I could devote to reading.  I read 2 or 3 copies of this book to tatters, and probably knew the whole damn thing by heart before things started to get a little better when the man my mother was married to finally left during my sophomore year.

I don’t even know why it (and the Bordertown books Mrs Bull contributed to with her husband) struck such a chord with me.  I think because part of me wanted so badly to be Eddi.  To have lived an overwhelmingly normal life for so long, only to end up swept away in a tidal wave of the fae.

I hoped that maybe someday something like this would happen to me, to maybe rescue me from the life I hated so much.

For a while, for young sj, this book was home.  And that’s probably why it’s the only thing I can think of to talk about today.

15 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge: Day 4

  1. I love this. I had books that were home when I was a kid, too. They went everywhere with me (I had those bus rides, too.) I still have some of them – all tattered and torn and covers-half-off. I’ll keep them forever. They saved me.

    • I moved from Montana to California when I was 17, and one of the boxes shipped was lost (the one with a lot of my books). I’m still sad when I think of all the memories that were packed up in that box. I know it might seem silly to people who don’t really understand the whole “books were my only friend” thing, but I physically ache when I think about it sometimes.

  2. I was about the same age when I started escaping into book adventures too. Those are the ones that really are timeless to be, and always hold a place in my heart. Great post.

  3. I read this book last year and while it didn’t really resonate with me, I get what you are saying. I too moved around a lot as a kid and coming from a long line of alcoholics, home wasn’t usually a place to relax and enjoy familial life. For me, Alan Dean Foster, Anne McCaffrey, and Mercedes Lackey were staples to bury myself in.

    • I can kind of understand why this book might not really appeal now. A lot of it for me is in its nostalgia value, but at the time, there was NO. OTHER. Urban Fantasy out there, and this whole thing was so amazingly fresh.

  4. Pingback: “Wear fortune as a coat, true friend.” | snobbery

    • Thank you. And thanks for clicking through these posts. I’ve been reading them again as you’ve liked them and am kind of proud of some of the writing. :)

Comments make us happy. Leave lots of comments.

