30 Day Book Challenge: Day 10

Wow, who knew this question would be so difficult?  I remember lots of books I read when I was a kid, but I think this was the first chapter book I read on my own.

The First Novel I Remember Reading

I had no idea they’d made a movie of this book!  I am kind of afraid to watch it.

Man, 6 year old sj LOVED this book.  To this day, every time I see a mini-bike, I think of this chanty song:

Trout, Salmon, flounder, perch,
I’ll ride my minibike into church.
Dace, tuna, haddock, trout,
Wait’ll you hear the minister shout.

Mini-bike, mini-bike, mini-bike, mini-bike!

…and now I’m off to find a copy of this to read to my younglings.  I wonder if it’s an ebook?  They will LOVE this.  Love it.

Have any of you out there seen the movie?  Is it horrible?  I kind of imagine it’s horrible.

10 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge: Day 10

  1. I tried to read this book when I was a kid, but I could not. Ironically because I imagined the worms to taste like hot dogs. My mom always boiled hot dogs, which left them looking (and maybe tasting) like anemic slugs.

  2. Heh heh, I remember my third- or fourth-grade class reading this, and my squeamish girly nose was probably wrinkled much of the time. I remember the part where the main character is almost tricked into skipping a day because his friends make a fake worm out of beans, and he only realizes it because when he burps, it tastes like beans XD

  3. I am sad, because I only read part of this book. I got some old readers from school that had excerpts of a bunch of stories in them, and I read them cover to cover…but I think at the time I didn’t realize they were full books. I would’ve read the rest of it for sure. :)

    • Oh, I’ve DONE that! I had a bunch of former textbooks that I bought at a yard sale or something? They were only, like, a quarter each, so I would read them for fun and then be disappointed at only an excerpt.

      In fact – I think my first experience with Kurt Vonnegut was because the story Harrison Bergeron was included in one of those books. If nothing else, they inspired me to go find authors I wouldn’t have known of otherwise.

      • Harrison Bergeron sounds familiar…I might have read that one as well. And until just now didn’t know it was Kurt Vonnegut. *mind blown*

Comments make us happy. Leave lots of comments.

