30 Day Book Challenge: Day 11

This one is easy.

The Book That Made Me Fall In Love With Reading

I don’t even know what to say about this book.  If you haven’t read it, you should.  If you have younger children, read it to them.

Half Magic was written in the 50s about a family living in the 20s, so of course it’s dated, but it’s still as full of charm as ever.  As an adult I catch little literary references that I missed when I was young, and that adds to my love of this book (more so than the others in the series).

I was an only child until I was 10, so before that, reading about this family of brothers and sisters gave me a bit of a pang. I wanted siblings to have summertime adventures with.  This was my favourite book to read during the summer (followed closely by Magic by the Lake, which follows the same siblings), curled up in some quiet nook at my grandparents’ house.  I found these books there one year and Nan told me I could have them.  I don’t know which of my dad’s siblings they belonged to, but I think it was my aunt.

I kind of never wanted to ask because it felt like they had appeared just for me.  [shrug]  I know, kids are silly.

Confession:

I still pick up coins and make double wishes on them, hoping that they’ll come true.

15 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge: Day 11

  1. I loved this book, too! We had an amazing teacher in…second grade? third? that read it to us, and then as soon as she was done I wanted to read it MYSELF, so I ran to the library and read it with my OWN eyes. I have such good memories of this book! Thank you for reminding me of it!

  2. It sounds lovely. Reminds me of E. Nesbit, and C.S. Lewis (though his mainstream-ness kind of ruins the nostalgic feeling that E. Nesbit and even Enid Blyton produce in me). And I love the sweet story of finding it at your grandparents’. Don’t worry, not asking sounds like something I’d do, too. :)

    • He was inspired by E. Nesbit! The story goes that he’d read all of those books to his children, then was disappointed by all the other kidlit out there, so wrote these for his own kids.

    • Heather, you should read it. Seriously. I mean, you could probably read all 7 books in a weekend, but I think you’d love this one in particular.

  3. “I kind of never wanted to ask because it felt like they had appeared just for me.”

    I love that! You are so adorable!

    My aunt, the children’s librarian, recommended these books to me when I was in elementary school. I think I could only find this one, but just the other day I bought one of the other ones in the series for my 3 year old/me.

    • Oh, I hope Q likes them! I am almost positive that you will. Just keep in mind that they’re 60 years old, and therefore VERY NON-PC. I know you won’t have a problem with that, but just keep it in mind (and maybe we can laugh about it).

  4. Those are the best kind of books as a kid, the ones that suck you into the world and make you wish so hard that it was real, and then you can’t get away from books at all. I really want to check this one out. My folks sent me several boxes of books from when I was growing up and I love going through them and rediscovering the ones that captured my imagination.

  5. This and Knight’s Castle are two of my most adored books of all time. I can still remember picking up the Odyssey Classics edition with the halfsies-disappearing kids on the cover at Waldenbooks and asking my mother to buy it and Zilpha Keatley Snyder’s The Velvet Room. I didn’t know it was such an important decision at the time.

      • That’s one of my favorites as well. Bringing it on a visit to my non-custody-having Dad’s house when I was ten saved me from a weekend of severe allergic reactions based on playing with the only playmate around – a very fluffy cat. Reading, phew.

Comments make us happy. Leave lots of comments.

