30 Day Book Challenge: Day 12

Coincidentally, it’s what I’m reading right now.

A Book So Emotionally Draining, I Had To Set It Aside

(Actually, I’m reading the follow-up, Bait Dogbut Shotgun Gravy is included at the beginning.)

I’ve made no secret of the fact that Chuck Wendig‘s Miriam Black books are some of my favourites that I’ve read so far this year, and have encouraged several people to pick them up (most of them have liked them too, yay!) so I kind of knew what to expect going in.  If you visit this book on goodreads, you’ll see the following in the blurb:

(Warning: title features mature themes, profanity, and violence.)

It’s probably a good thing that it mentions that up front because this book COULD BE triggery as fuck to some people.  Atlanta Burns, our protagonist, has been through far too much in her short 17 years of life.  The answers to just what she’s had to deal with are doled out slowly throughout, but you know early on that whatever it was wasn’t pretty.

…and even though she’s been a victim herself, she’ll be damned if she’ll sit by and just watch it happen to other people.

Even though it’s short (it is only a novella), those few pages pack a brass knuckle punch straight to your gut.  I can’t even count the number of times I was UGLY CRYING during the few hours it took me to read it.

Unfortunately, many of us have been in the situations described here.

Unfortunately, so many of us wish we’d had an Atlanta to stand up and take vengeance on our bullies/molesters/rapists/abusers, but we didn’t.  So we sat quietly and took it.  Telling ourselves it would get better eventually – and sometimes it does, but sometimes it doesn’t.

I got up no less than three times while reading, tears streaming down my face, pacing, wringing my hands, telling myself that there was just NO WAY I could continue reading.

But I did.

And I’m so glad.

For realsies, guys.  If you can make it through it, Shotgun Gravy is totally worth it.  It’s only 99¢ and it’s so completely worth your time and the DOLLAR you will spend on the ebook.

Just be prepared for it to rip your emotions a new one.

10 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge: Day 12

  1. Wow. I don’t think I could read this, at least not at this point in time. Lately, I’ve been in one of those long moods where reading about even small and fictional injustices has been triggering bouts of depression. I read the first few chapters of Anastasia Krupnik the other day, and was so angry at the teacher for giving Anastasia an F just because her poem didn’t rhyme…because apparently her definition of poetry is that it has to rhyme perfectly *insert facepalm of epic proportions*…and I was so hoping Anastasia’s parents would storm the castle classroom and read that meanie the riot act, but it didn’t happen. I mean, for crying out loud, it’s called Creativity Week and she’s discouraging her students from coloring outside the lines?

    Grr.

      • Aw, don’t feel bad! It really does look like a sweet series, and at least the dad personally changed the F to “Fantastic” :) And I loved the cover illustration of Anastasia, with her short blond-brown hair and those giant owl-eyed glasses. She reminds me of a nice girl I knew back in middle school.

        • I think part of the reason I liked them so much was because Anastasia reminded me a lot of myself. Totally misunderstood by her teachers and not liking to play by the rules.

Comments make us happy. Leave lots of comments.

