30 Day Book Challenge: Day 22

I’ve been back and forth in my mind on what I was going to talk about today.  There are a lot of series that I love, but some of them have disappointing moments that slightly dampened my enthusiasm.  Others don’t have a whole lot of books yet (but have the potential to become favourites), so I excluded those, too.  Also, there was another TOP CONTENDER for this position, but I’ve decided to save my love for that series for the last day, so you’ll find out about it then.

I know, I’m totally being secretive, don’t you love it?

Favourite Series

Jim Butcher’s The Dresden Files.  I picked this cover because the fourth book was where this went from a series that I read when I had the time to a series I must read the day a new book comes out.  PLUS, the 14th book comes out next month, and there are plans for, like, 10 more.  This is ten more years of reading awesomeness.  I can totally get behind that.

Not familiar with Harry Dresden?  Let him tell you:

My name is Harry Blackstone Copperfield Dresden. Conjure by it at your own risk. I’m a wizard. I work out of an office in midtown Chicago. As far as I know, I’m the only openly practicing professional wizard in the country. You can find me in the yellow pages, under “Wizards.” Believe it or not, I’m the only one there. My ad looks like this:

HARRY DRESDEN—WIZARD

LOST ITEMS FOUND. PARANORMAL INVESTIGATIONS.
CONSULTING. ADVICE. REASONABLE RATES.
NO LOVE POTIONS, ENDLESS PURSES, PARTIES,
OR OTHER ENTERTAINMENT.

You’d be surprised how many people call just to ask me if I’m serious. But then, if you’d seen the things I’d seen, if you knew half of what I knew, you’d wonder how anyone could not think I was serious.

Yes, some of the books are LESS GREAT than the others, but they’re all pretty fantastic (no pun intended).  There hasn’t been one yet that I’ve been disappointed in.  At all.  And they just keep getting better.

If you’re at all into urban fantasy (especially if it’s dipped in noir), give Jim Butcher a chance.

What did you think I was going to say?  What is your favourite series?

 

 

25 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge: Day 22

  1. I love this series too. It’s great that there are so many, and many more planned, yet the characters are not stagnant. They continue to grow and age, make mistakes, and learn from them. Each book adds more depth to the characters and the world. Awesome choice.

    • Thanks. I also love that you really feel the passage of time.

      Also, I would never have anticipated loving Molly as much as I do. Her character arc is probably the most impressive to me, so far.

        • Yes, Butters has become more than I’d thought he would, as well.

          I really don’t have any bad things to say about this series. I know he’s not considered to be superbly high-brow, but Butcher always delivers a good time. I have to think that even if something doesn’t make sense to me NOW, it will at some point down the line – because that’s how this series works.

    • No. It counts for nothing.

      By which I mean – the show annoyed the crap out of me, mostly because of Bob. Bob was not some British dude, hanging out in the apartment. AND WTF WAS UP WITH THE APARTMENT ANYWAY?

      Jesus. Em, if you want to read them, I can send them to you.

  2. I’ve got the first one on my bookshelf. Yet another series that I don’t have the time to read…just yet. Hopefully I will someday. Soon.

  3. I have a serious question: how many books qualify as a “series”? It has to be more than 3, yes? I feel like too many books these days are divided into trilogies less because the content demands it and more because the publisher does. I try to read every day, and the time I set aside for that is so limited, I get really, really pissed when I invest in a multi-book story that starts strong and fizzles into garbage, because it never really should’ve been more than the first book (or maybe two). So, how many books before I can at least somewhat safely infer that the author really intends this?

    • I’m annoyed by the sudden interest in trilogies, as well. I think, though, that anything that isn’t standalone can be considered a series. Unfortunately.

  4. With this topic I was kind of waiting on you to drop the Harry Potter series on us. Since that didn’t come up, now I’m curious about this Dresden Files series… :)

  5. Soooo, you’ve definitely convinced me to try this series. I’m always interested in ridiculously long series of books, especially if they’re generally well liked by the public, as this one seems to be on Goodreads. My guilty pleasure series is the Stephanie Plum books, I’m slightly embarrassed to say.

Comments make us happy. Leave lots of comments.

