Weekend Readathon!

I signed up a few weeks ago at O’s blog to participate in her post-NaNoWriMo Readathon, which is also celebrating the beginning of winter and those glorious hours we get to spend inside, curled up with a blanket and a book.

And I thought to myself, yesterday as I was on the final leg – I think a readathon is in order. The 1st and 2nd of December is on a weekend, so that makes it perfect. In fact, it doesn’t get more perfect – it’s the “wind down from NaNoWriMo / celebrate meeting goals / catch up on 2012 challenges / relax time / work hard time / the quiet time before the Christmas panic sets in time / welcome the winter months / however you want to frame it” time.

I think this is a brilliant idea.  While a good portion of the weekend will be spent packing and doing other moving related things, I’m planning on using this time to finish up the books I’ve started but not yet finished.

This is kind of a tall order, and I realize I’m not likely to finish them ALL, but I’m going to give it a shot, and won’t let myself start anything new until I’ve finished these.

What books do I still have to finish?

12% left in Shadow and Claw (books 1 and 2 of The Book of the New Sun) – Gene Wolfe

53% left in Year Zero (started during the LAST readathon!) – Rob Reid

56% left in The Living Dead (a zombie anthology I started in October but got kind of bored with) – edited by John Joseph Adams

74% left in The Crown of the Blood (I was actually enjoying this one, but it wasn’t appropriate for my mindset at the time) – Gav Thorpe

87% left in The Snow Queen’s Shadow (I loved the first 3 books, but wasn’t in the mood for this when I started it) - Jim C Hines

So, as you can see – I have a ton of things I can finish this weekend.  I know I probably won’t even make a dent, but I can work on these over the next week or so and hope to give myself some time to read things I’m interested in over the holidays.

What are your weekend plans?  Have any books you’re anxious to start/finish?

33 thoughts on “Weekend Readathon!

  1. I’m actually planning on reading a … wait for it … fanfiction this weekend. GASP! I’ve been following this fanfic author named Sueric for about a decade now. She write Inuyasha fanfiction, and has written more than 10 stories, each one easily clocking in at 200k words. I don’t know how she does it, but they’re fantastic. And thus, I’m reading her latest story :) Happy Reading!

    • Ooooohhhh! I used to watch a lot of Inuyasha with my oldest when he was younger. He didn’t understand some of the [ahem] more adult themes, but he loved the animation. He even had an Inuyasha action figure, which prompted the words “We DO NOT USE Tetsusaiga to stab teething rings!” (the teething ring belonged to his little brother and leaked EVERYWHERE) to leave my mouth.

      [sigh] Littlies, you know?

  2. Hmmm a readathon you say? I like that it is low key and open ended. What am I up to this weekend? I was planning on baking/decorating/wrapping. Maybe a big ol’ bunch of reading would be a better idea? I’ll have to think on this for a bit. Why am I talking to myself in the comment section of your blog?

    • Ha! I think the beauty here is that there’s really no reason you can’t do both. Read while baking, or bake and take a break to read, or read while stuff is in the oven…

  3. Although I’m busy today with friends, and busy tomorrow taking my sisters to their dance concert thing, I’m hoping I’ll still find plenty of time to read. I really should be doing what you’re doing. I’ve started a heap of books, but haven’t been in the mood to finish them. I haven’t even been bothered to put them on my ‘Currently Reading’ shelf on GR. But, yesterday, I started ‘The Pillars of the Earth’ – and it’s like the most massive novel I’ve ever had (apart from ‘Shantaram’ and ‘Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell’, but I haven’t read those yet)…so I’m hoping that I’ll stick with this one, because the first twenty or so pages are quite promising. :)

    • You will have to let me know! I read, like, 30 pages in Shadow and Claw last night, and pretty much walked away saying “Wait, WTF did I just read?!”

      • I will, most definitely!
        Haha :S That’s pretty worrying! Are you reading it along with someone? (I can’t remember if you were or not…maybe Amy?) If you are, what do they think of it? It’s a pretty massive book, isn’t it?

          • Yeah, it was Kate. Sorry, I somehow missed your other comment. >.<

            I think these two books together were a little over 500 pages? Or, in my ebook, I saw that it was 537 pages, but my page numbers never match anything anywhere.

            • Oh, right. I was thinking it was some massive tome for some reason. I don’t know why I got that idea. 500-600 pages is okay, for two books in one. I take it that you’re not going to continue with this ‘wtf’ series?

              • I HAVE TO!

                1. Because everyone says things start to make sense at the end and then you want to read them over and over to catch things you missed when you were full of wtfery.

                2. I promised Kate that I would read these cos she read Harry Potter and DT at my insistence earlier this year. I owe her.

                3. Damnit, I can’t not finish a series!

                • Haha!! Well, I’m sad to say that I don’t have your persistence…maybe I should. If I’m not liking a book, then dang it, I’m not going to waste the time. And I don’t think a book should be so confusing as to be off-putting and distracting. Sure, there should be enough intrigue to spur the reader on, but too much and the balance tips towards chaos. It still sounds interesting, and I’m going to give it a go later on, but no guarantee that I’ll stick at it like you do :P

                  And, after all, a promise is a promise. The fact that you’re keeping it is an admirable trait.

  4. Readathon? Sounds good in theory, but considering I have had the same brainless Nora Robert’s book sitting on my nightstand for 2 months and I have only read 4 pages of it I think I probably should sit this one out. I am also pretty sure it’s the same Nora Robert’s book I have checked out of the library several times over the last 4 years, though most of them have the same plot so I can’t be positive. My children have sucked my brain out but I am mildly interested in growing it back. I have heard of people who have done it. ;-) Enjoy your quiet time!

  5. Pingback: Readathon Updates, Day 1 | snobbery

  6. I wish I had know about this readathon earlier, shoot! I have a couple of concerts and review writing this weekend, and finishing up my holiday shopping. I think I will have to wait to have my own readathon over the week of Christmas—off from work and not traveling. Can’t wait…! Good luck to you this weekend!

    • Thank you! Since I’m sick, I haven’t read as much as I’d like, but I think I can still manage to get a decent amount done. I’m FORCING MYSELF to get as many of these finished as I can so I can move on.

Comments make us happy. Leave lots of comments.

