She’s Stronger Than the Monster Beneath Your Bed

Yes, this is really us.  If we were cartoon dragons.  At a disco.

Yes, this is really us. If we were cartoon dragons. At a disco.

You all know my good friend Heather D, right?  She has this awesome blog, Becoming Cliche, where she talks about her journey to becoming her mother.

Heather and I have known each other for coming up on three years.  Because of that game you see in that picture up there.  We met because I made a comment about slashfic in front of her and she had NO IDEA what I was talking about.  Yeah.  If you know her at all, you’ll giggle at how awkward that conversation was.

She didn’t hold it against me, though.  And before long, we were talking/emailing/chatting for a good portion of each day.  Other than our love of Harry Potter trivia (which brought us together [I kick her butt at book trivia, but she rules movie trivia]), we discovered that we had many other things in common.

Anyway, over the course of the last three years, she’s become one of my favourite people in the entire world, not just in my computer.

We’ve made tentative plans to meet up, but they always end up falling through.  Someday.  I promise, and then you’ll all be subjected to all the pictures and tweets and silliness.

In the meantime, since I can’t visit and make her peanut butter cookies for her birthday (oh yeah, it’s her birthday today!) this will have to do.

Happy Birthday, Heather.  I’m so glad I know you.  <3

(her go-to birthday song)

~o~

(her favourite band and where the title of this post came from)

~o~

Snape <3s Heather (and so do I!)

Snape <3s Heather (and so do I!)

~o~

Look!  He's waving Happy Birthday!

Look! He’s waving Happy Birthday!

18 thoughts on “She’s Stronger Than the Monster Beneath Your Bed

  1. Happy birthday, Heather!! If sj says you’re awesome, then it must be true (seriously, she’s a verifiable wealth of knowledge about awesomeness).
    All the best!

  2. Happy Birthday, Heather!!!!! I’ll make you a circle-shaped pizza (thanks, SJ) and eat it in your honor like it is Tortoise Day!

    Can’t believe I haven’t bumped into you both at the dragon disco! I karaoke there on Wordless Wednesday.

  3. AWWWW! The best way to wake up in the whole world! I’ll be singing Power of Two all day long! <3

    Thank you for such an awesome birthday post! Weird Al, Indigo Girls, and Snape. It doesn't get any better than that!

  4. Pingback: My Daily Joy « Becoming Cliche

Comments make us happy. Leave lots of comments.

