Welcome to the Year of Reading Whatever the F*ck I Want!

YoRWtFIW

Yup, that’s right!  No.  Effing.  Challenges.  While I had a good time last year reading ALL THE NEW (to me)  THINGS, there is no way in hell I’m doing that again in 2013.

SO!

This year, I’m going to just read things I want to read, and if I’ve already read them, IDGaF.  Honestly.

Here are some of the things I intend to re-read this year because I love them so much.

  • Emily of New Moon (series)
  • Anne of Green Gables (series)
  • Dresden Files and Codex Alera (series, dur)
  • Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (I might read these twice.  I don’t know and I don’t care because I CAN READ WHATEVER THE FUCK I WANT!)
  • ALL THE JASPER FFORDE!
  • Harry Potter!
  • The Colour Faerie Books
  • Maybe A Song of Ice and Fire (but maybe not, because if I don’t want to, I don’t have to – YAY!)
  • The Mote in God’s Eye (but probably not the sequel because I just didn’t like it all that much)
  • ALL THE STEPHEN KING!  Heather and I have decided to read his books in order of publication starting this year (no, it’s not a challenge, it’s JUST BECAUSE WE WANT TO), but this will probably take longer than 12 months, since we’ll also be reading other things.  It’ll just be a book or two or three a month, depending on the length of the book.  Some of them I haven’t read since junior high, so this should be interesting.

And you know what?  I’m not going to read them in this order (with everything other than the Stephen King, I mean)!  I’m not going to read them in ANY ORDER!  Because I don’t have to.  I’m a grown ass woman, and I’m kind of tired of being told what I can and can’t do.

There you have it.  My non-existent reading plan for this year.  Do I have any goals?  Um, yes.  To read whatever the fuck I want.  So, if you catch me reading something that it seems like I’m hating, please yell at me…unless it’s obviously for Trashy Tuesday, and then I’m reading it FOR YOU.

Wanna join in on #YoRWtFIW?  Grab the button!

yorwtfiw 210x210

55 thoughts on “Welcome to the Year of Reading Whatever the F*ck I Want!

  1. I fucked up bad with my reading challenge last year (to read the four classics of Chinese literature) and I didn’t read as much as I wanted to, so this year the goal is to just READ. I’m still not done with Labyrinth of Reading Books because I got sidetracked by Hayao Miyazaki and the Howl novels.

    • Krysty, I’m so thrilled that you picked up the Moers on my recommendation. You MUST read The Alchemaster’s Apprentice. I loved it so much.

    • I think that’s a fantastic goal! My resolutions last year were to not buy new books til I’d whittled down my already own books and to keep my downloads folder cleaner, but those were both failures of the epic variety.

  2. Great goal. That’s pretty much what I do every year to be honest – apart from the university required reading. I do plan on doing a lot of rereads this year though. And fantasy. More fantasy.

  3. I’ve been waiting for this post and my blog will be sportin’ that button PROUDLY. Yea yea, I did sign up for ONE stinking challenge but other than that? YoRWtFIW baby!

      • I read the first couple of the Thursday Next books probably 5 or so years ago and then forgot about them, but recently rediscovered them and was happy to see there were more! I read the first two again last year (weird to say “last year”!), but I’m looking forward to reading the rest and other books he’s written as well.

  4. Heh. I’ll probably be reading right alongside with you for some of those. I decided a couple of months ago that I’m going to be re-reading a bunch of shit as well, including Hitchhiker’s Guide, Harry Potter, and the Kingkiller Chronicles. I’ll also be reading Jasper Fforde, but it’ll be for the first time. I’m determined to finish up to the most current Thursday Next book (I’ve already read the first four). I also have to read the second Nursery Crime, and start Shades of Grey (which I’ve had on my shelf forever). I have SO MUCH READING TO DO.

    • Oh, YAY! I like reading along with friends! I just put all of my Fforde stuff on my reader this morning and the shelf with all the covers makes me super happy. I haven’t read the Rothfuss at all, but it’s one I’ve been meaning to get around to. I probably will at some point this year.

    • Yay! I just bought the UK ebooks through Pottermore (even though I already have the UK hardcovers and the US hardcovers…I might have a problem, I think) and added them to my reader. I might start PS today!

      • I don’t think you are the only one with this problem. I have the US and UK editions and the hardcovers and the paperbacks and the special editions and the adult UK editions and the Latin and Spanish ones . . . and I’m not even the worst person I know about this. I have a friend who is collecting editions from every country she can find, and gets people to send her different editions when they visit countries she hasn’t been to. I think last count she had almost a hundred different copies.

        • Oooooh, JEALOUS! I like that these UK ebooks have the children’s covers (I have the adults) and the GrandPre illustrations. I didn’t realize how much I missed them before when reading the adult HBs that don’t have them.

  5. Pingback: Reading Wrap-Up: December 2012 | Between the Covers

  6. I read “Salem’s Lot” for the first time a few months ago and am now reading “On Writing” (Stephen King’s pseudo-memoir/”how to” for writers that is actually quite good and helpful, btw) and have recently (as in, within the past 24 hrs) decided to go back read his earliest works. So, yeah, let us know when you embark and I’ll read along with ya. (Some of them, at least.)
    :) Nikki

    • ‘Salem’s Lot is one of them that I haven’t read since junior high (but I think that’ll be later this month). We started Carrie today and Salem’s Lot will be next, but I’ll keep you posted when we hit up The Shining and Rage in February. :)

  7. Pingback: Book Blogger Confessions: Reading Challenges | Cheap Thrills

  8. I love the concept of YoRWtFIW! I need to remind myself — pretty frequently — that it’s all about the reading. Not challenges, not keeping up, not blog stats. And hurray for taking the time to re-read!

      • That’s great! What are you planning to re-read? I love that you’re doing a Stephen King read-through. (I still need to get through the rest of the Dark Tower series…)

        • I’m planning on finishing my Harry Potter re-read and I’d like to read Diane Duane’s Young Wizards series again from the beginning. Whatever SK we have queued up for June (I know we’re doing Cujo and The Running Man this month, so whatever’s after that), and maybe some LM Montgomery if there’s time. I think summer’s a good time for reading her.

          I’ll also be re-reading Edward Eager this summer (out loud with my kids this time)…I just realized my plate is pretty full.

          Where did you leave off on the Dark Tower?

          • I read the first three books, one after another, had book 4 ready to go — then decided to take a break, and suddenly a year has gone by. I just re-read two Edward Eager books with my son this year (Half Magic and Magic by the Lake) — these are so awesome (although KNight’s Castle is still my fave). I’ve never read the LM Montgomery books, which is an awful oversight on my part. Gotta fix that one of these days! And I always love a Harry Potter re-read. I read all the books out loud to my son last year — took me about 10 months, I think, and a very sore throat, but we made it!

            • The third is one of my favourite books ever, but the fourth makes me stabby. Lots of people love it, though.

              I really hope my kids love Half Magic as much as I do!

  9. Pingback: Smell Ya Later, 2013 | snobbery

Comments make us happy. Leave lots of comments.

